This is the "Home" page of the "Journey to the Center of the Earth" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Journey to the Center of the Earth  

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2017 URL: http://chandler.greenville.libguides.com/journey Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journey to the Center of the Earth

 

A Journey to the Center of the Earth - Jules Verne

Audiobook - Jules Verne - A Journey to the Center of the Earth

 

Journey to the Center of the Earth Assignment

Your Journey to the Center of the Earth
Your assignment is to write a narrative of your journey to the center of the Earth. In your narrative, you will need to include certain information about each layer:
  • Depth of the layer
  • Composition of the layer
  • Temperature of the layer
  • Density/Pressure of the layer
  • Location in Earth (compared to the other layers)
You can be creative with this assignment, describing things you might see, hear, feel, etc. When describing your journey, be detailed and specific, with strong imagery so that the reader feels like they are really there with you. You are allowed to use fictitious elements, but you are required to include the information listed above for each of the layers.
We will spend one day in the media center, one day in the computer lab, and one day in the classroom using the Chromebooks. You need to use your time wisely in order to complete the assignment on time.
You will need to complete a flowchart and rough draft before starting your final draft. You will turn in the flowchart and the rough draft as part of your grade. You will also need to have a works cited page for any resources that you use that were not provided to you by me. If you use your ISN or foldable, you do not have to cite those.
 

Rubric

Rubric
4 Points
3 Points
2 Points
1 Point
0 Points
Crust
Includes:
Depth
Composition
Temperature
Density/Pressure
Location
And is accurate
Includes 3-4 of the requirements
Includes 2 of the requirements
Includes 1 of the requirements
Has none of the requirements
Mantle
Includes:
Depth
Composition
Temperature
Density/Pressure
Location
And is accurate
Includes 3-4 of the requirements
Includes 2 of the requirements
Includes 1 of the requirements
Has none of the requirements
Outer Core
Includes:
Depth
Composition
Temperature
Density/Pressure
Location
And is accurate
Includes 3-4 of the requirements
Includes 2 of the requirements
Includes 1 of the requirements
Has none of the requirements
Inner Core
Includes:
Depth
Composition
Temperature
Density/Pressure
Location
And is accurate
Includes 3-4 of the requirements
Includes 2 of the requirements
Includes 1 of the requirements
Has none of the requirements
Grammar
There are no grammatical mistakes
There are fewer than 3 grammatical mistakes
There are between 4 and 8 grammatical mistakes
There are between 9 and 12 grammatical mistakes
There are more than 12 grammatical mistakes
Flowchart
Flowchart provided and filled in completely
Flowchart provided but not filled in completely
No flowchart
Rough Draft
Rough draft turned in
No rough draft turned in
Citations
Works cited provided for any resources used that were not given in class
No works cited page turned in

‚Äč

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip